How to Become a Foster Parent in Nebraska

Guidelines for becoming a foster parent vary from state to state, however, to meet general requirements you must:

  • Be at least 21 years of age
  • Be either single or married
  • Be able to meet basic income guidelines
  • Be able to provide adequate bedroom space and a separate bed for each foster child
  • Have reliable transportation
  • Be willing to complete 30 hours of free training in PS-MAPP
    (Partnering for Safety and Permanency – Model Approach for Partnerships in Parenting) 
  • Agree to use non-physical discipline for children
  • Be willing for everyone in your household to undergo complete background checks. Licenses will be fingerprinted as part of the federal Adam Walsh Act

After completing a 30-hour Partnering for Safety and Permanence-Model Approach to Partnerships in Parenting (PS-MAPP) training and a series of paperwork, we will submit your packet of information to the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).  Click here for training dates.

1-877-KVC-4KIDS
1-877-582-4543